PSE – ASL – Coda Talk

Interesting points were brought up in the last vlog, comparing whether Kodas are more keen to learning ASL or PSE. I am not at all versed in language or how it works. I give my opinions and perspectives based on my experiences. I am also throwing in another language process called “Coda Talk” it may interest those that love language and the process of language. Another Coda, Sherry Hicks, discusses this in her article co-written with Michele Bishop  Bimodal bilingualism in hearing adults from deaf families it is a detailed study.

I am enjoying seeing my children’s language skills develop through their eyes. Again, thanks for sharing. Looking forward to your comments.

  1. Fascinating :). Thanks also for satisfying my curiosity :).

    I used to be a grammar prescriptivist before I read linguistics of ASL book and it preached to me to be flexible so I am now more of a descriptivist in attitude toward how Deaf sign ASL now. ASL is too complex to be strict about grammar but it is still fascinating :). Waiting on other commenters too :). Keep up the great job vlogging, Lisa!

  2. Nick Vera

    WOW! I am glad he experienced camping out with other KODAs at CM7. That made him motivated to learn in ASL in order to communicate with your husband and other deaf people fluently. Keep it up! Bravo!

  3. Karyn

    A few days ago, I paid a visit at my deaf friend’s house who has two CODAs. Under a same roof the brother signed as ASL and his sister signed as PSE. Like you said, it is their personalities. The mother of those children told me that the son hanged around with deafies more than her daughter. I think ASL is like …so much more real than life, PSE. And I think KODAs at CM7 is a great tool!

    By the way I enjoyed watching your vlog, very interesting. 🙂

  4. sherales

    Great vlog! Just a little suggestion – please make sure your face and hands aren’t “wash out” or “aura-like” ‘cuz your hands and facial expressions were almost unidentified or better word, unreadable (sp?). Perhaps test your vlog first before posting it on DeafRead to make sure it’s easily readable/viewable. Smile. Other than that, keep up with great vlogs! :0)

  5. Karyn

    Hi again,

    I have a question. It is annoying in my head 🙂 What is bi or bibi? Time to time I’ve see some vloggers fingerspelled bi and bibi I’d greatly appreciated for someone care to explain/define what bi is. On the dictionary, it said Bibi is Bibi is a surname but I’m not sure if it is related to deaf world or whatever?

    Thank you!

  6. codadiva

    Sherales,
    Thanks for the reminder. I was rushing, I have all kids home screaming, crying, and wanted to get my thought up right away. I’ll take that into consideration more!

    Karyn I think Bi-Bi means bicultural bilingual – 2 cultures and 2 languages. Someone correct me if I am wrong.

    Thanks all for the comments! I keep vlogging because you all keep commenting!

  7. Renee

    Hi CodaDiva,

    I’ve enjoyed your vlogs a lot. I have a close friend who is a CODA herself. She never ceases to amaze me. Her very fluent ASL skills, her behavior as a “pure deaf” person, etc. etc. Anyway, I want to gently say something about one sign you used a couple of times. For the word “perspective” I believe you used the sign for “prediction.” Or did you really mean “prediction?”

    Secondly, PSE is not really all word for word sign language.. it’s a “mixture” of ASL and SEE, per se. There is a spectrum of PSE kinda like the scale between ASL to SEE. Pidgeon comes from a time when two spoken languages “blended together” which I learned in one of my Geography courses a few years ago.

    Readers, I may be way off base here! Please let me know if I am.

    Keep on vlogging!

  8. codadiva

    Renee,
    You’re right! I wasn’t signing perspective correctly. That’s what is great about the Deaf Culture/Coda Culture, a correction is always welcome!

    Thanks for some clarification on PSE. As I mentioned, I’m not really versed in this area of language, rules, syntax. SEE would be the “signed exact english” that I may have been confusing the two.

  9. Renee is right.

    SEE=Sign Exact English (incorporate everything that is in English sentence like ‘the’, all pronouns, twisting of CL-S to describe possessive suffix (Lisa’s), ‘a’, past tense invented sign, etc etc etc)

    PSE=Relaxing use of SEE and becoming more natural but still have some invented signs that generally simply are not in ASL because they’re not grammatically necessary in ASL

    ASL=Well, you know, hahaha.

    Of course, my definitions are oversimplifications but better than none.

  10. vininince lentine

    Lisa, Good job vlogging. I think you are best seen when you are closer to the camera as in your vlog “My Parents are NOT Deaf”. I don’t know which I like better seeing you sign or hearing your voice. Both are beautiful! I am taking Nick Vera’s advice and will be taking sign classes this fall. In response to the language topic. I remember a few years ago seeing Fr Joe Mulcrone using “Total Communication” signing voiced English. It was interesting to see the mixing of voiced english and sign. I tried to use it myself and thought it would be a good way to show my Mom, who is deaf of course, a more proper english. I soon got tired of signing “the” and “of” and fell back into our “home style” ASL, complete with making deaf sounds, ha ha.

    I am so glad you are undertaking this Vlog. CODA makes me feel complete and you are my daily coda fix.

  11. Karyn

    Codadiva,

    Thank you for the quick response.

    Have a good weekend,

    Karyn




Leave a Reply

