New Business focusing on Deaf Awareness Training

In light of all the news about Steak and Shake and Karen Putz, I decided I couldn’t wait to announce my new business. A formal announcement is slated for March but I wanted you all to be the first to know.

Starting a business is both exhilarating and draining. I wanted to make it something I could love into retirement. I had an opportunity to teach sign language at my husband’s job, we covered more than just conversational signs, I educated them about Deaf culture. So I decided to combine by passion of talking and the Deaf culture/community and launch Limelight Training and Consulting, LLC. I provide businesses with Deaf Awareness Training. I also include all aspects of hearing loss where necessary.

How is my business different for other programs? I’m an entrepreneur at heart. I plan to market to hospitals primarily in the launch stage, this is where the most of the complaints are critical for Deaf and hard of hearing individuals. For every hospitals and businesses I commit a relationship that will help them not only become aware, but to be an industry leader. I take pride in helping businesses understand the culture as well as keeping better customer service or patient care that will just overflow into standard qualities. How many times have you talked to someone at the receptionist desk that didn’t make eye contact? Deaf or not, I like people to look at me while speaking.

Deafread is a blessing! I love diversity and with all of your ideas, opinions, perspectives and knowledge. The topics are wide and it’s wonderful to be a part of this online vlog/blog community. Such an amazing amount of information we get all in one setting. Don’t you agree?

I’ll be posting the launch of the new website shortly (I hope next month). In the meantime, thanks for reading! My new website will be located at http://www.limelight-training.com

  1. J.J. Puorro

    Sounds interesting…

    Why don’t you also focus on police officers and people who work in court houses? I think that demographic desperately needs some exposure to deaf culture.

    Just a thought…do keep us updated though…I am interested in how this business may work out…good luck!

    -J.J.

  2. codadiva

    Thanks J.J. Yes you are right. I do have those plans as well. I can’t wait to update you!

  3. Agreed about focusing on law enforcement, however that area’s a hard nut to crack. Yes I speak from experience since I am after all the State’s trainer on Deaf Awareness issues. I can get through to other agencies but law enforcement? Still remains a stubborn obstacle for me today. The best thing is to build relationships with key players in administrations. I know you probably have a plan all figured out but doesn’t hurt to help!

    Let me know if I can help out in any way–I’ve got tons of resources that are NOT under intellectual property rights protection and can be shared with anyone.

    Best of luck!

    BF

  4. wendy

    Will this be local, or be serving nationwide?

  5. codadiva

    BF – I’ll be in touch! I can imagine what the Law Enforcement thinks. I’ve had some interesting conversations in the past.

    Wendy, I offer services nationwide.




Leave a Reply

