Commercials with ASL

I’ve seen the upcoming Pepsi Superbowl ad! I’m so excited, it’s hilarious and perfect for Superbowl commericals. There is always controversy for something or another. Last year the Kevin Federline Nationwide commercial had the National Restaurant Association really upset. Previous years struck controversies with ads such as Snickers, Bud Light and GoDaddy. National agencies were in an uproar. Here we have the NAD supporting it. I personally don’t think they just slapped their name on this without discussing it.

There have been other commercials that have sign language in it, the Johnson’s sausage commercial with the little deaf boy that smells breakfast cooking in the morning and slides down the banister. Can’t find this, can you?

There is a very low budget South Dakota Relay and then Apple MacIntosh starring Marlee Matlin. Are there others? I generally perk up when I see a hint of sign language being thrown into a commercial or TV program. It’s exciting and fun.

The only commercial I have had a problem with is the PSA featuring former Miss America. I have nothing against her or the message, but the commercial doesn’t have captioning. It bugs me every time. How you see it on youtube is how it is on TV. No closed captioning. I get that a person can deduce from the commercial to be safe with food. But it’s not clear until much later in the commercial. Someone couldn’t have captioned it?

Pepsico’s ad is hilarious, I just wish we could tape every hearing household that grabs their remotes and hits the volume up button! Mute button

  1. Mute button…you’re funny!

  2. gally grad

    hey here’s a post from last year, with a video compilation of several commercials from the ’80s and ’90s featuring ASL

    http://deafjoke.tv/wp/blog/2007/01/02/commercials-featuring-asl-from-80s-and-90s/

  3. codadiva

    Gally Grad, thanks for taking the time to post but shucks, the links didn’t work for me. I’l try again later.

  4. That is funny. Pepsi added a feature with some Keith Wann videos, under a section “bob’s house”

    http://pepsi.com/bobshouse/index.php?or=pw.474

    And I… I fiddled with the volume switch.

    *me embarrassed*




Leave a Reply

